The Recap: WNBA Week 2

WNBA 20

It’s only week 2 and some teams are starting to come into form or at least putting the pieces together. This week has seen the Phoenix Mercury secure their first win. The flux of the Indiana Fever continues to malinger that franchise. And the Atlanta Dream are tinkering away, silently climbing the ranks.

Game of the Week: Washington Mystics (77) vs. Phoenix Mercury (93)
After a nasty spat of loses, the Mercury finally found success. Starting guard Diana Taurasi dropped an impressive 28 points (58%), followed but Griner and Bonner both putting up double digits respectively. The key difference that jumped out to me in this game was the spouts of great defense and better shooting, not to mention the Mystics are a bit of a soft target compared to their earlier opponents. As I mentioned before, this is a talent heavy team, but they can’t seem to locked down any sort of team dynamic. They’ll keep floundering until their chemistry issue is resolved. Next up, the Mercury will take on the Connecticut Suns. There is no reason they should lose this game but I wouldn’t be surprised if it turns sour. I believe in this team and really hope they find a way to course correct soon.

Player of the Week: Angel McCoughtry
The Atlanta Dream present are a team I just haven’t figured out. At first, looking at past  game logs and these spurt of games, they give me the impression of the Phoenix Suns / Utah Jazz. One of those middle tier teams that’ll make a playoff run here and there but can never get over the hump to be dominant. Their games haven’t terrible impressed me, but I keep hearing the Angel McCoughtry and had to pay attention. She works well in the paint, is a great rebounder and defender from what I can tell. It’s not a surprise that she made the cut for the US team.

This will be a short week as I need to catch up on some of the weekend games. Plus, I’d rather not recycle even more material about how unstoppable Minnesota’s been or my over-analytical rants of the Seattle Storm. Though I gotta say; the Seattle Strom should be brought up on criminal charges for the lack of exposure regarding Jewell Loyd. And lastly, I will be in attendance for the Storm game vs the Phoenix Mercury, so definitely excited about that. So I’ll close with my top five power rankings (based on my view of team dynamic, record, and strength of schedule).

WNBA Week 2 Rankings:
1. Minnesota Lynx – No need to explain this one
2. LA Sparks – See above
3. Atlanta Dream – See my player of the week above
4. Chicago Sky – Aside from Della Donna, I’m really liking what I see in Pondexter and Faulkner
5. Seattle Storm – If they keep up the dynamic play as they did against the Sun, they can easily jump to the three spot.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

