Life in Ephemeral Moments

Continuing on with this theme of social media and moreover, life and technology today. All of these enhancements have made our daily lives that much more easier, that much more entertaining, and that much more…constricted. Bear with me. In the world we live in today, so many people spend so much time micromanaging their time through social media outlets or outlook calendars, they sometimes miss out on being present in the moment.  Or even more shocking, these outlets become a giant timesink where nothing ever gets accomplished due to arguing with random strangers on the internet or getting lost in Wikipedia / Cracked articles.

I find it interesting how our perception of time has changed over the generations and how we handle life moments. It seems we’re moving further and further into a space where everything just shy of  (or in some cases does) intimate moments.  There’s always a mobile phone somewhere ready to record and upload anything. That or someone’s always on the run barely ever taking a moment to take in the air and smell the roses. It’s kind of scary. Being that way appears to be very disconnected, superficial, and not fully aware of how significant certain moments can be.  Or sometimes, you just need to be unplugged from the world.

For example, I’ve taken up more hiking and camping this summer.  When I’m out there, I cut my phone off.  Same for when I go to the gym: no phone, tablet, or any of that stuff.  It’s just one big distraction nor does help me focus personally.  And most importantly, when I’m with my son. I may take a photo or two at the request of his mom. But for the most part, I want my attention to be on him and having fun together.  I want to be in the moment with him. I hope he comes to have this same kind of appreciation within his own life. Life’s too short to be a slave to your precious work / life balance and back to back meetings, or stopping to virtually record everything.  Sometimes you just gotta drop what you’re doing and take in the air from time to time.  Otherwise, you’ll be that much closer to grave and have nothing to show for it other than a collection of photos and videos you hardly ever looked at again.  Seize your lives today people, seize your lives.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

